BUSINESS, CONSUMER. SERVICES, AND HOUSING AGENCY - Department of Consumer Affatrs EDMUND G, BROWN JR,, Governor

MEDICAL BOARD OF CALIFORNIA

Licensing Program

December 31, 2013

" TO: ACCREDITED QUTPATIENT SURGERY SETTINGS
OUTPATIENT SURGERY SETTINGS ACCREDITATION AGENCIES

SUBJECT:  NEW CALIFORNIA LAW AMENDS ADVERSE EVENT REPORTING
REQUIREMENTS

Governor Edmund G, Brown Jr. signed into law Senate Bill (SB) 304 (Lieu, Chapter 515, Statutes of
2013), which requires an outpatient surgery setting, accredited pursuvant to Section 1248.1 of the Health

. and Safety Code, to report an adverse event to the Medical Board of California (Board). This change in
adverse event reporting requirements will take effect January 1, 2014,

Prior to the passage of SB 304, these accredited outpatient surgery settings were required to report
adverse events, as defined in California Health and Safety Code (HSC) Section 1279.1, to the California
Department of Public Health. '

Beginning, January 1, 2014, an accredited outpatient surgery seiting will be required {o report adverse
events, as defined in HSC Section 1279.1, to the Board: '
¢ 1o later than five days after the adverse event has been detected; or
e ifthat event is an ongoing urgent or emergent threat to the welfare, health, or safety of patients,
personnel, or visitors, no later than 24 hours after the adverse event has been detected.

The Board has established the “ADVERSE EVENT REPORTING FORM FOR ACCREDITED
OUTPATIENT SURGERY SETTINGS” (enclosed) to be completed and submitted to the Board to fulfill
this new reporting requirement as specified in Business and Professions Code Section 2216.3. This form
can also be found on the Board’s website at:

~ http://www.mbc.ca.gov/outpatient_adverse event form.pdf.

If an accredited outpatient surgery setting fails to report an adverse event, the Board may assess a civil
penalty in ah amount not to exceed ene hundred dollars ($100) for cach day that the adverse event is not
reported following the initial five-day period or 24-hour period, as applicable,

For further assistance, please contact David Ruswinkle at (916) 263-2493 or
David.Ruswinkle@mbec.ca.gov. Please feel free to share this information with other interested parties. The
full text of SB 304 and its specific reporting requirements are available online at:

- http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/pub/13-14/bill/sen/sh _0301-0350/sb_304_bill 20131003 chaptered.pdf.
This letter can also be found on the Board’s website at: www.mbc.ca.gov.

Sincerely,

Curtis J, Worden

Chief of Licensing

Medical Board of California
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