
 

 BUSINESS, CONSUMER SERVICES, AND HOUSING AGENCY - Department of Consumer Affairs EDMUND G. BROWN JR., Governor  

 
MEDICAL BOARD OF CALIFORNIA 

 Licensing Program 

 
07A-100 (Revised 7/2016) 

2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 1200, Sacramento, CA  95815-3831 (916) 263-2382  (800) 633-2322 FAX: (916) 263-2487  www.mbc.ca.gov 
 

FEE SCHEDULE 

 
 

Application for Physician's and Surgeon's License 
or 

Postgraduate Training Authorization Letter (PTAL) 
 

        PART 1:  APPLICATION FEE 
The application fee includes a required fingerprint processing fee.  Please note, the application will not be reviewed until the 
required application fee is received. 

Total Non-Refundable Application Fee Required 
 

$ 

PART 2:  LICENSE FEE   
  

License fees are required prior to issuance of your medical license. 
To reduce delays in issuing a license, you may submit the application and license fees together. 

Initial License Fee ($808.00) or Reduced Initial License Fee ($416.50) – If you currently are enrolled in 
an ACGME/RCPSC accredited training program, you may be eligible for the reduced initial licensing fee.  
To verify your enrollment, you will need to submit a Certificate of Current Postgraduate Training, Form L4.  

The license fee includes a mandatory $25 fee for the Steven M. Thompson Physician Corps Loan 
Repayment Program. 

NOTE:  PTAL applicants are not required to submit the initial license fees until all licensing requirements 
have been met. 

  

  

Initial License Fee Required $808.00 
$              or Prior to  or 

Reduced Initial License Fee   Licensure $416.50 
PART 3:  SONG-BROWN FAMILY PHYSICIAN TRAINING ACT  

  

 
The Song-Brown Health Care Workforce Training Act (Song-Brown Program) was established to increase 
the number of family physicians to provide needed medical services to the people of California. The 
program encourages universities and primary care health professionals to provide healthcare in medically 
underserved areas, and provides financial support to family medicine, internal medicine, OB/GYN, and 
pediatric residency programs, family nurse practitioner, physician assistant, and registered nurse 
education programs throughout California.  For further information regarding the program, please visit    
the Office of Statewide Health Planning and Development (OSHPD) website at 
http://www.oshpd.ca.gov/hwdd/Song_Brown_Prog.html.   

You may voluntarily contribute any amount (minimum $25.00) to the 
Song-Brown Program.  The Board transfers all funds collected on a 
monthly basis to OSHPD. 

Voluntary $25.00 

(minimum) $  

PART 4:  TOTAL AMOUNT  $  
 

Certified Check, Cashier's Check, Money Order, or Personal Check made payable to:   
 

MEDICAL BOARD OF CALIFORNIA   
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