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• Mail completed form to: Medical Board of California, 2005 Evergreen Street, Suite1200, Sacramento, CA 95815-3831 

 
• Section 2441 of the Business and Professions Code provides an exemption from payment of the renewal fee if a 

licensee demonstrates to the satisfaction of the Board that the licensee is unable to practice medicine due to a 
disability.  This waiver is at the discretion of the Board, may be terminated at any time, and is based on the licensee’s 
inability to practice medicine. 

 
• The holder of a disabled license may not engage in the practice of medicine. 

 
• The licensee and his or her attending physician are required to complete the application. 

 
• If you are renewing at the same time as you apply for disabled status, you must submit the $25 mandatory fee for the 

Physician Loan Repayment Program and the $12 mandatory fee for the Controlled Substance Utilization Review and 
Evaluation System / Prescription Drug Monitoring Program (CURES / PDMP) with the application. 
 

• If the medical license is delinquent, a payment of all accrued renewal fees, delinquent fee, the $25 and $12 mandatory 
fees, and penalty fee must be submitted with the application.  If the license is current no fee is required. 
 

• Make certified checks, cashier’s checks, money orders, or personal checks payable to the Medical Board of California. 
 

• The holder of a disabled license must comply with the Continuing Medical Education (CME) requirements, unless the 
holder has applied for and has been granted a CME Waiver. 

 

DISABLED PHYSICIAN APPLICATION FOR 
EXEMPTION FROM PAYMENT OF RENEWAL FEE 

 

NO PRACTICE PERMITTED 
 

Please print or type.  Illegible applications will be returned. 

FOR MEDICAL BOARD USE ONLY 
Fee paid:________________ 

Date Cashiered:___________ 

Receipt #:________________ 

Cashier’s Intl.:_____________ 

Management Approval: ______ No:___ Date:__________ 

Enforcement Approval: Yes___ No:___ Date:__________ 
Name (first, middle, last): 

 

Address of record (Current public/mailing address. If using a PO Box, you must also provide a confidential street address.)   
This is the address that will be displayed on the Medical Board’s website. 

 

Confidential street address: 

 

Telephone  
Number:  California Medical License Number:  

Fax 
Number:  E-mail:   

I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that I read and understand the continuing 
medical education (CME) requirements, have completed and can document no less than 50 hours of approved CME for the 
two-year period immediately preceding the expiration date of my license, or I hold a CME waiver from the Medical Board of 
California. 

Applicant’s Signature:                                                                                                   Date:          



 

INFORMATION 
 
When a licensee desires to return to practicing medicine, the licensee and attending physician will be required to complete an 
application to have the licensee removed from disabled status and returned to “active” licensure. It must be established to the 
satisfaction of the Board on a form prescribed by the Board and signed under penalty of perjury that the licensee’s disability either no 
longer exists or does not affect the licensee’s ability to practice medicine safely, or the licensee may agree to limit his or her practice in 
the manner prescribed by the reviewing physician. At the time of application, the licensee must also submit payment of the current 
(active license) renewal fee. 
 

THE FOLLOWING SECTION MUST BE COMPLETED BY YOUR ATTENDING PHYSICIAN. 
Description of disability and explanation as to how the disability prevents the applicant from practicing medicine safely.  

 

Approximate date disability began:    The disability is:                 Temporary  Permanent 

If “Temporary,” approximate date applicant will be able to return to practicing medicine:  

Attending Physician’s Name:   Telephone Number:  

Attending Physician’s Address:  

City:   State: Zip: 

I CERTIFY UNDER PENALTY OF PERJURY UNDER THE LAWS OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA THAT THE INFORMATION I HAVE 
PROVIDED IN THIS APPLICATION, INCLUDING ANY SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS, IS TRUE AND CORRECT AND THAT I AM 
LICENSED TO PRACTICE IN THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA. 

      

 Attending Physician’s Signature  Date  

     

 Attending Physician’s License Number  Attending Physician’s State of Licensure  

FOR MEDICAL BOARD USE ONLY 
Applicant’s License Verification: 
 

License Number:_____________________ 
 

Issue Date:__________________________ 
 

Expiration Date:______________________ 
 

Enforcement Date:____________________ 

Attending Physician License Verification: 
 

License Number:______________________ 
 

Issue Date:__________________________ 
 

Expiration Date:______________________ 
 

Enforcement Date:____________________ 

Medical Consultant:        Approved            Denied 
 

If denied, please provide reason: 
 



 

FINANCIAL INTEREST 
 

California’s Financial Interest Disclosure law (Business and Professions Code section 2426) requires you to disclose any financial interest 
that you or your immediate family have in specified health-related facilities located in or outside the State of California.  Immediate family 
means a spouse, child or parent of a licensee, and a spouse of a child of a licensee.  
 
Financial interest includes any type of ownership interest including share or stock ownership, limited partnership interest, debt, loan, 
lease, compensation, remuneration, general or limited partnership interest, discount, rebate, refund, dividend, distribution, subsidy, or 
other form of direct or indirect payment of money or anything else of value to a licensee or the licensee’s immediate family from a health-
related facility. 
 
Health-related facility means any facility that provides clinical laboratory services, radiation oncology, physical therapy, physical 
rehabilitation, psychometric testing, home infusion therapy, diagnostic imaging, or outpatient surgery centers.  Diagnostic imaging 
includes all X-ray, computed axial tomography, magnetic resonance imaging, nuclear medicine, positron emission tomography, 
mammography and ultrasound goods and services. 
 
A financial interest does not include the ownership of corporate investment securities, including shares, bonds, or other debt instruments 
that (1) are purchased from a licensed securities broker on terms available to the general public through a licensed securities exchange or 
NASDAQ, (2) do not base any profit distributions or other transfers of value on the licensee’s referral of patients, (3) do not have a separate 
class or accounting for any persons or licensees who may make patient referrals to the corporation, and (4) are in a corporation that has 
total gross assets exceeding $100,000,000. 

 
Do you have financial interest to report?            NO         YES* (please list the name(s) and address(es) in the space below.  
If you answered “yes” to having financial interest to report, please list the name(s) and address(es) of each health-related facility 

in which you or your immediate family have a financial interest.  
Health-Related Facility Name(s) Facility’s Address 

  

  

  

  

I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that I read and understand the information defining 
financial interest and that either I have disclosed on this application the names of those health-related facilities in which I or my 
family have a financial interest, or I do not have any financial interest to disclose. 

Applicant’s Signature:                                                                                                   Date:          
 

You must disclose, if since your last renewal, you have had any license disciplined by a government agency, or have been convicted of, or 
pled guilty, to any crime.  Do not list charges dismissed under section 1000.3 of the California Penal Code or equivalent non-California laws, 
or convictions two years or older under California Health and Safety Code Sections 11357(b), (c), (d), (e), or section 11360(b).     
 
“Conviction” includes a plea of no contest and any conviction that has been set aside or deferred pursuant to Penal Code section 1000 or 
1203.4, including infractions, misdemeanor, and felonies.   
 
You do not need to report a conviction for an infraction with a fine of less than $300.00 unless the infraction involved alcohol or controlled 
substances.  You must, however, disclose any conviction which you entered a plea of no contest and any convictions that were 
subsequently set aside pursuant to Penal Code sections 1000 or 1203.4. 
 
“License” includes permits, registrations, and certificates.  “Discipline” includes, but is not limited to, suspension, revocation, voluntary 
surrender, probation, or any other restrictions. 

Since you last renewed your license, have you had any license disciplined by a government agency or 
other disciplinary body, or, have you been convicted of any crime in any state, the U.S.A., and its 
territories, military court or a foreign country? 

 
NO 

 
YES 

I CERTIFY UNDER PENALTY OF PERJURY UNDER THE LAWS OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA THAT THE INFORMATION 
CONTAINED IN THIS APPLICATION, INCLUDING SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS, IS TRUE AND CORRECT AND THAT I AM LICENSED 
TO PRACTICE IN THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA.  

Applicant’s Signature:                                                                                                   Date:          

All items in this application are mandatory.   This information is requested by the Licensing Program of the Medical Board of California.  Failure to 
provide any of the requested information will result in this application being rejected as incomplete.  The information provided will be used to 
determine your eligibility for waiver of renewal fees, under section 2441 of the Business and Professions Code.  The Licensing Program Chief is the 
custodian of records.  Access to records by the individual to whom they pertain may be obtained under the Information Practices Act by contacting 
the custodian of records at 2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 1200, Sacramento, CA 95815.   Information in this application may be transferred to other 
governmental and law enforcement agencies. 
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