Any licensee who demonstrates to the satisfaction of the Board that he or she is
unable to practice medicine due to a disability may request a waiver of the license
renewal fee. The granting of a waiver shall be at the discretion of the Board and
may be terminated at any time. Waivers shall be based on the inability of a licensee
to practice medicine. A licensee whose renewal fee has been waived pursuant to this
section shall not engage in the practice of medicine unless and until the licensee
pays the current renewal fee and does either of the following:
- Establishes to the satisfaction of the Board, on a form prescribed by the Board
and signed under penalty of perjury, that the licensee's disability either no longer
exists or does not affect his or her ability to practice medicine safely.
- Signs an agreement on a form prescribed by the Board, signed under penalty of perjury,
in which the licensee agrees to limit his or her practice in the manner prescribed
by the reviewing physician.
California Business and Professions Code (B&P) section 2436.5 requires
licensees to pay a mandatory fee of $25.00 at the time of renewal of a physician's
and surgeon's license to the Physician
Loan Repayment Program. The Physician Loan Repayment
Program encourages recently licensed physicians to practice in underserved locations
in California by authorizing a plan of repayment of their medical school loans in
exchange for their service in a designated medically underserved area for a minimum
of three years.
To receive a fee exemption, a licensee must apply for the status change before the
expiration date of the license. If the license is current, no fee is required.
If the license is in a delinquent status, a payment of all accrued renewal fees,
delinquent fee, the $25.00 mandatory fee, and penalty fee must be submitted with
For further information, please contact the Consumer Information Unit at (800) 633-2322
or (916) 362-2382.