Midwifery License Renewal
The license to practice midwifery in California must be renewed every two years.
It is illegal to practice midwifery with an expired license. For licenses issued
after July 1, 2018, the license expires at midnight on the expiration date, which
is the last day of the month in which it was issued. For licenses issued before
July 1, 2018, the license expires at midnight on the expiration date, which is the
last day of the midwifes’ birth month.
Currently, Licensed Midwives are unable to renew their license online. Licensed
Midwives must renew by mail.
When renewing by mail, the renewal must be on the Board's renewal form, and must
include the current renewal fee. Please allow 4-8 weeks for processing. If a renewal
notice is not received, the license must still be renewed before the expiration
date on the license.
Forms, information about current renewal fees, and requirements may be obtained
Medical Board of California
2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 1200
Sacramento, CA 95815
(916) 263-2382 or (800) 633-2322
Disciplinary Action Disclosure:
When renewing, each licensee must disclose whether they have had any license disciplined
by a government agency or other disciplinary body, or, have been convicted of any
crime in any state, the USA and its territories, military court or a foreign country.
License includes permits, registrations and certificates.
Conviction includes a plea of no contest and any conviction that has been set aside
or deferred pursuant to sections 1000 or 1203.4 of the Penal Code, including infractions,
misdemeanor, and felonies. You do not need to report a conviction for an infraction
with a fine of less than $300 unless the infraction involved alcohol or controlled
Discipline includes, but is not limited to, suspension, revocation, voluntary surrender,
probation, or any other restriction.
For additional information, please contact the Medical Board's Consumer Information
- Toll-Free: 1-800-633-2322
- Phone: (916) 263-2382
- Fax: (916) 263-2435
You may not be able to renew your license if you have been identified to have outstanding
tax obligations or family support issues.
Failure to Renew:
Practicing midwifery without a valid license may lead to disciplinary action against
There is no grace period; if a license has not been renewed within 30 days following
the expiration date, the Licensing Program will notify the midwife by mail. The
date a license expires, the status is changed to "delinquent" if the renewal application
and fees due are not received.
If a license is renewed more than 30 days following the expiration date, the midwife
is required to pay a $75 delinquency fee.
After a license has been in "delinquent" status for five years, the license is automatically
canceled. A canceled license may not be reactivated by simply paying delinquent
fees. The midwife must apply for a new license and meet the current licensure requirements.
Frequently Asked Questions:
When can I expect to receive my renewal application?
Renewal applications are sent by U.S. Mail to the licensee’s address of record approximately
90 days prior to the expiration date of a license. If you do not receive a renewal
application two months prior to your license expiration date, contact the Board
at (916) 263-2382 or (800) 633-2322 to request a duplicate renewal application.
To ensure timely receipt of renewal applications, always keep the Board informed
of any address changes. It is the responsibility of the licensee or registrant to
renew his or her license whether a notice has been received or not.
I didn't get my renewal application because my address changed. Do I have to pay
the delinquent fee?
Yes, if you did not renew prior to the date the fees are imposed. A licensee is
required by law to notify the Medical Board in writing within 30 days of a change
Why do I have to pay?
California law requires that to maintain an active, current license, each licensee,
including out-of-state licensees, must pay the full biennial renewal fee at the
time of license renewal.
I'm leaving the country. Can I pay my renewal fee ahead of time?
The renewal must be paid within the 90 days prior to the expiration of the license.
What is required to renew a license?
Payment of the renewal fee and completion of the registration renewal application
form are required for registration renewal. On the renewal form you must:
- Certify that you have completed (and can document if audited) 36 hours of approved
continuing education (CE) at the time of renewal or that you have been issued a
retired status license or an inactive status license which exempts you from the
- Respond to the License Discipline/Conviction Question
What if I haven’t submitted the Licensed Midwife Annual Report?
Every licensed midwife is required by law to submit the Licensed Midwife Annual
Report. Failure to complete this requirement may delay your license renewal. For
more information, please contact the Board at (916) 263-2382.
The renewal fee for a Midwife's license $200.00. The renewed license is valid for
Delinquent Fees: In addition to the renewal fee, a delinquent fee
of $50 will be added if payment is not received within 30 days following the expiration
date of the license.
Expired Licenses: The Board will need to determine the correct
renewal and delinquent fees. Please contact the Board at (916) 263-2382 to obtain
the current amount you will need to pay.
Note: In accordance with Section 2428 of the California Business
and Professions Code, a midwife whose California license expired five or more years
ago must apply for a new license and meet the current licensing requirements in
effect at the time of application.
Inactive License Status: Licensed Midwives who have been issued
an Inactive Status License must pay the normal renewal fee, but are exempt from
the continuing education requirement . The holder of an inactive status license
may not engage in the practice of midwifery. For information on how to apply for
an Inactive Status License, or how to restore an inactive status license to an active
status, please contact the Board at (916) 263-2382.
Retired License Status: Licensed Midwives who have been issued
a Retired Status License are exempt from paying the renewal fee and the requirement
for continuing education. The holder of a retired status license may not engage
in the practice of midwifery. For information on how to apply for a Retired Status
License, please contact the Board at (916) 263-2382.