Midwife, Dispensing Optician, Polysomnography, or Psychoanalyst License/Registration Verification (formerly known as Letters of Good Standing)

License/Registration Verifications are letters sent to other state and/or country medical boards to verify the status of a license/registration. These letters are required by other boards to assist them in determining if there is any reason to prohibit or delay licensure by alerting boards of past or pending disciplinary action.

Please note the process takes approximately 4 to 6 weeks from receipt of the required information and fee:

  1. Written communication requesting the Medical Board of California produce a license verification letter(s);
  2. Contact information (phone number, email address) of the individual requesting the license verification letter(s);
  3. Complete name and California license/registration number of each individual for whom the license verification letter is being requested;
  4. Complete name and address of the other state and/or country licensing board(s) where each letter will be sent via U.S. Mail; and
  5. A check made out to the Medical Board of California for each license verification letter requested at the rate of $10.00 per license verification letter. Currently, no credit card payments are accepted for this service.

The required information and fee listed above must be sent to:

  • Licensing Program
    Medical Board of California
    2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 1200
    Sacramento, CA 95815

Contact the Board’s Consumer Information Unit with questions at:

  • Toll-Free: 800-633-2322
  • Phone: 916-263-2382