Physician Reporting Requirements

A physician licensed in California is required by law to notify the Medical Board of certain specific occurrences. Reporting forms are provided for your use, links shown below. Pursuant to California Business & Professions Code:

  • § 801.01(b)(2), a licensee must report malpractice settlements over $30,000 and judgments or arbitration awards of any amount, if the licensee does not possess professional liability insurance. (See Report of Settlement, Judgment or Arbitration Award)
  • § 802.1, a licensee must report:
  • The bringing of an indictment or information charging a felony against the licensee.
  • The conviction of the licensee, including any verdict of guilty, or plea of guilty or no contest, of any felony or misdemeanor. (See Physician Reporting - Criminal Actions)
  • §2240, a licensee who perfoms a medical procedure outside of a general acute care hospital, that results in the death of any patient on whom that medical treatment was performed by the licensee, or by a person acting under the licensee's orders or supervision, shall report, in writing, on a form prescribed by the board, that occurrence to the board within 15 days after the occurrence. (See Outpatient Surgery - Patient Death Reporting Form)
  • § 2021, each licensee shall report to the board each and every change of address within 30 days after each change. (See Notification of Name Change and Address of Record )