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Important Notice: Additional Fees Effective April 1, 2014  
to Implement Senate Bill  809 (DeSaulnier, Chapter 400, Statutes of 2013) 

 
Senate Bill 809, regarding the Controlled Substance Utilization Review and Evaluation 
System (CURES), Prescription Drug Monitoring Program (PDMP) was signed by the 
Governor and becomes effective January 1, 2014.  The CURES/PDMP is a valuable 
tool for healthcare professionals as it allows pre-registered users including licensed 
healthcare prescribers eligible to prescribe controlled substances, pharmacists 
authorized to dispense controlled substances, law enforcement, and regulatory boards 
to access timely patient controlled substance history information.  The CURES/PDMP 
program assists healthcare professionals in identifying possible prescription drug 
abuse. 
 
Senate Bill 809 requires healthcare professionals who are authorized to prescribe or fill 
prescriptions for controlled substances to pay $6.00 annually to support the 
CURES/PDMP. This fee will be collected at the time of a licensee’s renewal.  Effective 
April 1, 2014, all physicians and surgeons will see an additional $12.00 added to their 
renewal fee ($6.00 per year). This $12.00 will be transferred to the State of California 
Department of Justice, Office of the Attorney General to fund the CURES/PDMP.  
Renewal notices sent out with an expiration date of April 30, 2014 and later will include 
this additional fee.  All licensees whose expiration date is April 30, 2014 and later will 
have to pay this fee, no matter when the renewal fee is submitted. Failure to pay these 
additional fees will result in the renewal not being issued.   
 
The following is a breakdown of the fees, effective April 1, 2014, collected by the 
Medical Board of California at the time of a physician’s and surgeon’s license renewal: 
 

1. Physician’s and Surgeon’s License renewal fee:     $783.00 
2. Steven M. Thompson Loan Repayment fee:    $  25.00 
3. CURES/PDMP fee:       $  12.00 

 
Total fees:         $820.00 

 
In addition to the Medical Board, the Dental Board, Board of Pharmacy, Veterinary 
Medical Board, Board of Registered Nursing, Physician Assistant Board, Osteopathic 
Medical Board, Board of Optometry, and the Board of Podiatric Medicine, will all be 
adding the required CURES/PDMP fees to their licensee’s renewals effective April 1, 
2014.  
 
The chaptered language of Senate Bill 809 can be viewed at the following link:   
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/pub/13-14/bill/sen/sb_0801-
0850/sb_809_bill_20130927_chaptered.pdf 
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