Renewal Fees for Physicians & Surgeons
Effective January 1, 2009, California Business and Professions Code section (B&P) 2436.5 requires applicants to pay a mandatory fee of $25.00 at the time of issuance or renewal of a physician and surgeon's license to the Physician Loan Repayment Program. The Physician Loan Repayment Program encourages recently licensed physicians to practice in underserved locations in California by authorizing a plan of repayment of their medical school loans in exchange for their service in a designated medically underserved area for a minimum of three years.
Renewals: The $25.00 mandatory fee will be incorporated into the total renewal fee due for every physician whose license expires on or after April 30, 2009. For more information, please review the frequently asked questions and answers below.
Fee Exempt Renewals: A physician who holds a military, retired, voluntary service or disabled status license is exempt from paying the renewal fee. However, every physician whose license expires on or after April 30, 2009 will be required to pay the mandatory $25.00 fee at time of renewal. If the mandatory fee is not received prior to the expiration date, the license will be placed in a delinquent status and a pocket license will not be issued.
Application for Licensure / Postgraduate Training Authorization Letters (PTAL): A person whose application is postmarked on or after July 1, 2009 must pay the $808.00 initial license fee. If eligible for the reduced fee, the amount is $416.50 - see the application for information.
- General questions and answers regarding fees
- Frequently asked questions and answers about the new renewal fee
General Questions and Answers Regarding Fees
Who do I contact if I have a question regarding fees that is not answered on the Board's Web page?
You may contact the Board at (916) 263-2382.
Frequently Asked Questions and Answers About the New Renewal Fee
I currently hold a fee exempt license. Will I be required to pay the $25.00 mandatory fee for the Physician Loan Repayment Program?
Yes, the $25.00 fee is mandatory. You are still exempt from paying the renewal fee; however, in order to maintain a current license, you must pay the $25.00 fee.
Is there a grace period?
No. The license is not valid once it expires. You may not engage in the practice of medicine once the license has expired.
My license has expired. How much will I need to pay to renew the license?
The Board will need to determine the correct renewal, delinquent, and penalty fees. Please contact the Board at (916) 263-2382 to obtain the current amount you will need to pay.
Note: In accordance with Section 2428 of the California Business and Professions Code, a physician whose California license expired five or more years ago must apply for a new license and meet the current licensing requirements in effect at the time of application.