MEDICAL BOARD STAFF REPORT

DATE REPORT ISSUED: ATTENTION: SUBJECT: STAFF CONTACT: July 15, 2015 Members, Licensing Committee June 30, 2015 Interested Parties Meeting Update Curtis J. Worden, Chief of Licensing

UPDATE:

On June 30, 2015, the Medical Board of California (Board) held a Physician Postgraduate Training Requirements and Physician Reentry to Practice Interested Parties meeting in Sacramento. This meeting included teleconferencing and webcasting. The Interested Parties meeting was chaired by Michael Bishop, M.D., Licensing Committee Chair.

Dr. Bishop opened the meeting and provided some background on this issue. Dr. Bishop then asked Mr. Worden to provide an overview of the physician requirements for postgraduate training in California. Mr. Worden referred to the postgraduate training material that was prepared for the Interested Parties meeting (Attachment 1).

Mr. Worden provided an overview of the physician postgraduate training (residency) requirements in California. The Board recognizes two types of accredited postgraduate training: the Accreditation Counsel for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) in the United States, and the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada (RCPSC) for the training in Canada. The minimum requirement for postgraduate training to qualify for licensure in California for United States and Canada (US/CAN) medical school graduates is the successful completion of one year of ACGME or RCPSC accredited postgraduate training. For US/CAN medical school graduates, they must be licensed prior to the completion of 24 months of ACGME or RCPSC accredited postgraduate training. For INTERNATIONAL TRAINING, they require successful completion of two years of ACGME or RCPSC accredited postgraduate training an individual can complete before licensing in required. It is important to note that all training in any ACGME or RCPSC accredited postgraduate training program counts towards the 24 or 36 months license exemption period.

The minimum number of years for any ACGME or a RCPSC accredited postgraduate training program is three years and some programs are up to seven years. This does not include additional postgraduate training in a fellowship-training program or research years during postgraduate training.

The specific requirements for postgraduate training by state and issues that have been identified by staff, Graduate Medical Education (GME) Deans, GME staff and GME Program Director to consider prior to seeking changes to California statute and regulations are identified in the June 30, 2015 Interested Parties meeting material (**Attachment 1**).

The Board received one public comment from a fourth year international medical school student who supported increasing the required minimum number of years of ACGME or RCPSC accredited postgraduate training to three years and also supported the new World Medical School directory instead of the current California list of recognized medical schools to be eligible for licensure if the minimum number of years of ACGME or RCPS accredited training required for licensure in California was increased to three years.

Dr. Bishop moved to the discussion regarding physician reentry to practice after a period of nonpractice. Dr. Bishop raised the question of how long of a period of nonpractice would be allowed before a physician should be reevaluated in order to practice medicine again.

Ms. Kirchmeyer provided some additional information stating this is not just a California issue, but is a nationwide issue. What does reentry mean? What can a physician do in order to come back into practice? What would be required in order to ensure consumer protection? Ms. Kirchmeyer stated one of the problems, even from the Federation of State Medical Board's perspective, is there are very few programs that provide the training needed in order to train these individuals to come back into practice.

The Board received valuable input from the participants during the meeting from the following individuals:

Ms. Cindy Boling, Director of Communication and Regulatory Board Liaison for Professional Boundaries Inc., provided information concerning what is or is not effective training for physicians who are returning to practice, for instance, point education, the fly in and fly out in two or three days does not work. Ms. Boling stated linear education was more effective in helping physicians return to practice.

Dr. David Perrot, Senior Vice President, Chief Medical Officer, California Hospitals Association and serves on the Board of Commissioners for the Joint Commission, stated hospitals generally use the two-year rule for physicians who were returning to a hospital after nonpractice. If a physician has not practiced for two or more years, hospitals are going to require the physician to obtain training and/or will not allow the physician to practice without some type of monitoring. In addition, he stated there needs to be some training available to physicians who left the practice of medicine for a period of time, who now want to reenter the practice of medicine and need some refresher training. This would assist physicians in returning to the work force.

Ms. Yvonne Choong, California Medical Association, agreed with Ms. Boling and Dr. Perrot. Ms. Choong stated there is a need to define what does out of practice mean? Does it mean physicians who are currently in practice but have limited patient interaction? Ms. Choong said one size does not fit all physicians. Ms. Choong also identified cost, the length of the program, and the location of the programs as being issues to consider. Ms. Choong also identified some physicians may want to change their practice from one area to another area of medicine and would that be considered reentry since the Board issues a plenary license.

The Board plans to hold another Interested Parties meeting on these same subjects in the Southern California Area in the near future.

ATTACHMENT 1

MEDICAL BOARD OF CALIFORNIA MINIMUM POSTGRADUATE TRAINING REQUIREMENTS INTERESTED PARTIES MEETING JUNE 30, 2015

MEDICAL BOARD OF CALIFORNIA – APPROVED POSTGRADUATE TRAINING

- ACCREDITATION COUNCIL FOR GRADUATE MEDICAL EDUCATION (ACGME) – Programs Completed In The United States Only
- ROYAL COLLEGE OF PHYSICIANS AND SURGEONS OF CANADA (RCPSC) Programs Completed In Canada Only

CURRENT MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS:

US and Canada Medical School Graduates:

Successful completion of one year of ACGME or RCPSC accredited GME

International Medical School Graduates:

Successful completion of two years of ACGME or RCPSC accredited GME

CALIFORNIA'S CURRENT LICENSE EXEMPTIONS FOR RESIDENTS:

US and Canada Medical School Graduates:

Must be licensed after completing two years of ACGME and/or RCPSC accredited training anywhere in the US and/or Canada (Business and Professions Code (BPC) Section 2065)

International Medical School Graduates:

Must be licensed after completing three years of ACGME and/or RCPSC accredited training anywhere in the US and/or Canada (BPC Section 2066)

NUMBER OF YEARS TO COMPLETE AN ACGME OR RCPSC ACCREDITED RESIDENCY:

Examples of minimum number of years:

- Internal Medicine (General) and Family Medicine Programs Three Years
- Neurosurgery Seven Years

Note: Transitional year programs are for residents who need one year of clinical experience to qualify to enter some specialty programs.

IS ONE OR TWO YEARS OF ACGME OR RCPSC TRAINING ENOUGH FOR A PHYSICIAN TO OBTAIN LICENSURE AND PRACTICE SAFELY WITHOUT ANY SUPERVISION?

The practice of medicine and medical education is very different today, than in 1980 when BPC Sections 2065 and 2066 became law

WHAT IS THE MINIMUM NUMBER OF YEARS OF RESIDENCY TRAINING REQUIRED BY OTHER STATES FOR LICENSURE?

The minimum postgraduate training requirements vary from state to state – from one to three years, or the successful completion of an accredited program (ACGME or RCPSC):

US/CAN:	1 Year	2 Years	3 Years	Full Program
*Number of States:	31	16	2	1
IMG:	1 Year	2 Years	3 Years	Full Program
*Number of States:	2	19	27	1

Note: Some states will accept Non-ACGME accredited GME

WHAT IS THE FEDERATION OF STATE MEDICAL BOARDS' RECOMMENDATION FOR THE MINIMUM NUMBER OF YEARS OF RESIDENCY TRAINING?

The FSMB recommends three years of ACGME or AOA accredited graduate medical education prior to full licensure.

The FSMB's proposed "Interstate License Compact" states: "Successfully completed graduate medical education approved by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education..."

HOW MANY YEARS OF ACGME OR RCPSC TRAINING SHOULD THE BOARD CONSIDER REQUIRING TO BE ELIGIBLE FOR LICENSURE IN CALIFORNIA?

The Board should consider increasing the minimum number of years from one (US/CAN) and two (IMG) years to one of the following:

- ➤ Two years for both US/CAN and IMG
- or
- Three years for both US/CAN and IMG
- * Please see pages 5 6 for detailed chart by state.

TWO YEARS OR THREE YEARS OF ACGME AND/OR RCPSC?

US/CAN and IMG Two Years:

- ➢ Adds one year to US/CAN
- ▶ US/CAN and IMG would have the same minimum requirement
- Does not meet the minimum number of years for an ACGME and/or RCPSC accredited training program
- > Does not meet the FSMB minimum recommendation
- Does not seem reasonable to add only one year to US/CAN

US/CAN and IMG Three Years:

- Adds two years to US/CAN and one year to IMG
- ► US/CAN and IMG would have the same minimum requirement
- Meets the minimum number of years to complete an ACGME and/or RCPSC accredited training program
- Meets the FSMB minimum recommendation
- Meets the FSMB Interstate Medical Licensure Compact
- Increases consumer protection

IDENTIFIED ISSUES TO CONSIDER

- How will the registration process for medical school graduates/applicants need to change to participate in a California ACGME accredited program?
- Will both International medical school graduates and US/CAN medical school graduates need to complete the same number of years of ACGME?
- How important is International Medical School Recognition if the minimum ACGME accredited training requirement is increased to three years?
- ** Should the new "World Directory of Medical Schools" be used for recognition of non-LCME accredited medical schools for license eligibility in California?
- > The need for a training license and when to apply?
- ➢ How will the training license be transitioned into a full license?

- ▶ How will the change affect the California ACGME accreditation programs?
- ➤ How will the change affect the residents?
- The need for residents to have DEA registrations. How and when will the residents qualify for DEA registration?
- > The need to write prescriptions without a co-signer.
- > How will the change affect the signing of birth certificates and death certificates?
- ▶ How will the change affect research years during an ACGME accredited program?
- ▶ How will the change affect billing for services rendered by a resident physician?
- ** The World Directory of Medical Schools has been developed through a partnership between the World Federation for Medical Education (WFME) and the Foundation for Advancement of International Medical Education and Research (FAIMER) in collaboration with the World Health Organization and the University of Copenhagen.

Postgraduate Training Requirements by State				
State	Requirements for US/Canada Medical School Graduates	Requirements for International Medical School Graduates		
Alabama	1 year ACGME training	3 years ACGME training		
Alaska	2 years	3 years		
Arizona	1 year	3 years		
Arkansas	1 year	3 years IMG unless currently enrolled in training program through University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences.		
California	1 year ACGME training	2 years ACGME training		
Colorado	1 year	3 years		
Connecticut	2 years	2 years		
Delaware	1 year	3 years		
Florida	1 year	2 years		
Georgia	1 year	1 year if IMG is on list 3 years IMG if not on list		
Hawaii	1 year	2 years		
Idaho	1 year	3 years		
Illinois	2 years	2 years		
Indiana	2 years	2 years		
Iowa	1 year	2 years		
Kansas	1 year	3 years IMG (minimum 2 years in a ACGME approved program)		
Kentucky	2 years	2 years		
Louisiana	1 year	3 years		
Maine	Prior to 07/01/04 - 2 years ACGME After 3 Years ACGME	3 years ACGME training		
Maryland	1 year	2 years		
Massachusetts	Prior to 01/14 - 1 year After 01/14 - 2 years	Prior to 01/14 - 2 years After 01/14 - 3 years		
Michigan	2 years	2 years		
Minnesota	1 year	2 years		
Mississippi	1 year	3 years		
Missouri	1 year	3 years		
Montana	2 years	3 years		

State	Requirements for US/Canada Medical School Graduates	Requirements for International Medical School Graduates	
Nebraska	1 year	3 years	
Nevada	3 years	3 years	
New Hampshire	2 years	2 years	
New Jersey	Prior to 7/1/03 - 1 year After 7/1/03 - 2 years	Prior to 7/1/03 - 2 years After 7/1/03 - 3 years	
New Mexico	2 years	2 years	
New York	1 year	3 years	
North Carolina	1 year	3 years	
North Dakota	1 year	30 months ACGME training	
Ohio	1 year	2 years	
Oklahoma	1 year	2 years	
Oregon	1 year	3 years	
Pennsylvania	2 years	3 years	
Rhode Island	2 years	3 years	
South Carolina	1 year	3 years	
South Dakota	Successful completion of residency program	Successful completion of residency program	
Tennessee	1 year	3 years	
Texas	1 year	2 years	
Utah	2 years	2 years	
Vermont	1 year	3 years	
Virginia	1 year	2 years	
Washington	2 years	2 years	
West Virginia	1 year	1 year	
Wisconsin	1 year	1 year	