Memorandum

Agenda Item 10

To: Members, Division of Licensing

Date: April 10, 2007

From: Cindi Oseto, Associate Analyst Special Programs Coordinator

Subject: Establishment of Special Faculty Permit Review Committee (Business and Professions Code Section 2168.1(c))

The Division of Licensing is responsible for administering the Special Faculty Permit Program under Article 8.5 (commencing with Section 2168) of Chapter 5 of Division 2 of the Business and Professions Code.

The Division of Licensing sponsored Assembly Bill 2260 (Negrete McLeod) in the last legislative session. This bill, in part, amended the Special Faculty Permit Program statutes of Sections 2168 through 2168.5. One of the amendments to Section 2168.1 requires the Division of Licensing to establish a Review Committee, comprised of one representative from each of the medical schools in California and two members of the Division of Licensing. The committee members will be charged with the evaluation of applicants sponsored under this section of law; the Review Committee will make recommendations to the Division of Licensing relative to each applicant.

At the November 3, 2006, meeting of the Division, the members appointed Ms. Chang as the public member and Dr. Fantozzi as the physician member. The dean of each California medical school is to submit the name and Curriculum Vitae of the selected school representative. The school representative must meet the following criteria: (1) be a senior administrator; (2) possess a valid California medical license, and (3) be involved in and knowledgeable about graduate medical education and the academic review process.

The nominations for the schools of medicine at Stanford University, Loma Linda University, the University of California, San Diego, the University of California, San Francisco, and the University of California, Los Angeles were accepted and approved at the February 2, 2007, meeting of the Division of Licensing. The following nominees meet the required criteria and are the last medical schools in need of appointments. The nominees selected by each of the following medical schools are listed below:

University of California, Davis

James Nuovo, M.D. Professor of Family and Community Medicine Associate Dean, Graduate Medical Education and Designated Institutional Official Vice Chair, Department of Family and Community Medicine

University of California, Irvine

Jeremiah G. Tilles, M.D. Professor of Medicine Professor of Microbiology and Molecular Genetics Associate Dean, College of Medicine

Keck School of Medicine at the University of Southern California

Lawrence M. Opas, M.D. Professor of Pediatrics Associate Dean, Graduate Medical Education and Designated Institutional Official

Staff recommends that the above listed nominees be approved for appointment to the Special Faculty Permit Review Committee. These nominations will complete the requisite appointment of representatives to the Special Faculty Permit Review Committee.

Please contact me by telephone at (916) 263-2366, or by e-mail at <u>coseto@mbc.ca.gov</u> by Monday, April 23, 2007, to discuss any questions which you may have regarding this item.