



What are the Changes?



- > A Postgraduate Training License (PTL) will be required for all residents who are participating in a California ACGME program
- > A renewal of a PTL will not be required
- A PTL will be displayed on the Board's website

What are the Changes?



The Board will no longer recognize international medical schools, rather the Board will recognize an international medical school as meeting the educational requirements for a PTL/licensure, if the school is listed on the World Federation for Medical Education (WFME) and the Foundation for Advancement of International Medical Education (FAIMER) and Research World Directory of Medical Schools joint directory or the World Directory of Medical Schools

<section-header><section-header><list-item><list-item><list-item><list-item><list-item><list-item><list-item><list-item><list-item><list-item><list-item>



Common Questions



Are applicants that complete a combined dental and medical degree program eligible for licensure?

Oral and maxillofacial surgery residency programs accredited by the Commission of Dental Accreditation (CODA) are approved as meeting the postgraduate training for licensure.

Common Questions



Can a holder of a PTL obtain a DEA permit?

Yes. The Board received confirmation from the DEA that a holder of a PTL can be issued a controlled substance permit and will be subject to the same CURES registration/policy requirements.

In order to prescribe Suboxone, the holder of a PTL with a valid DEA permit, will be required to obtain the proper certification through the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration.

Common Questions For a holder of a PTL request enrollment as a Medi-Cal fee-for-service provider? Yes. The Board received confirmation from Medi-Cal that a holder of a PTL can request enrollment as Medi-Cal fee-for-service provider.

Common Questions



Can a holder of a PTL obtain an X-License or Fluoroscopic Permit?

The California Department of Public Health requires a full and unrestricted license in order to obtain an X-License or Fluoroscopic Permit.





Common Questions



What happens to residents that are currently in an ACGME accredited postgraduate training program in California at the time the law goes in effect?

Residents will be required to obtain a PTL by June 30, 2020, to continue in the program.

Common Questions



What happens if an out-of-state resident is scheduled to complete their 36-months of ACGME accredited postgraduate training on June 30th and has been accepted into a fellowship program in California to start on July 1st?

The fellow may begin training on July 1st and will be required to obtain a license within 90 days in order to continue in the program.

During the Transition



The Board will correspond with applicants that have a pending application on file with the Board regarding the status of their application and what is required to proceed with the application process, within 90 to 180 days prior to the effective date of the new law.

