Jenna Jones

Chief of Enforcement



Authority for the Program

> Business and Professions Code Section 125.9 gives the Board authority to issue a citation and fine for a minor violation of the Medical Practice Act.

- > Citation requests are referred from:
- Central Complaint Unit
- Discipline Coordination Unit
- Probation Unit

EST. 1876

- Health Quality Investigation Unit (with Board approval)
- Licensing Unit



Citation and Fine Program

- Fines range from \$0 to \$5,000.
 - The gravity of the violation
 - Good faith by the licensee
 - Licensee's history of previous violations



What Qualifies?



 Title 16, California Code of Regulations Section 1364.11 outlines all of the violations when a citation can be used.

90 listed statutes where a citation can be used

- Includes violations by all license types
 - Examples:
 - Failing to provide a current address of record to the Board as required by law.
 - Failing to maintain adequate and accurate medical records.
 - Referral violations.
 - Failing to have a Fictitious Name Permit.











Request for Administrative Hearing



• A licensee can request that matter go straight to an Administrative Hearing (no informal conference)

OR

 May request an administrative hearing after an informal conference

Payment

- What if someone doesn't pay their fine?
- Board staff pursues payment from the licensee.
- Non-payment options include:
 - The amount due can be added to the licensee's next renewal.
 - Referred to the Franchise Tax Board.
 - Referred for an accusation for failing to pay the citation.

Disclosure

Public Disclosure

- Business and Professions Code Section 2027
- > Title 16, California Code of Regulations Section 1364.15
 - Citations shall be disclosed to the public if requested
 - Posted on the website 30 days after issuance, unless appealed
 - If appealed, not posted until resolution reached

Record retention

Record Retention

3 years from the date of resolution, unless withdrawn







