

Licensing Program

2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 1200 Sacramento, CA 95815-5401 Phone: (916) 263-2382

Fax: (916) 263-2487 www.mbc.ca.gov

Protecting consumers by advancing high quality, safe medical care

 $Gavin\ Newsom,\ Governor,\ State\ of\ California\ |\ Business,\ Consumer\ Services\ and\ Housing\ Agency\ |\ Department\ of\ Consumer\ Affairs$

To: Program Directors

Subject: Postgraduate Training License information

Date: February 24, 2020

Dear Program Directors,

I am writing on behalf of the Medical Board of California (Board) to provide you additional information and clarification regarding the Postgraduate Training License (PTL) and the law changes that went into effect on January 1, 2020. In the fall of 2019, the Board notified all applicants that had pending applications with the Board of the upcoming law changes and how the change affected their application. The Board also provided the applicants a list of deficient items to complete their application, if applicable.

Under the new law, all applicants are required to complete 36 months of Board-approved training regardless of whether the medical school attended was domestic or international. In addition, all residents in a California ACGME program must obtain a PTL within 180 days after enrollment. The issuance of a PTL will allow residents to train without violating the law.

During the transition process, current first and second year residents must apply and obtain a Postgraduate Training License (PTL) by **June 30, 2020**. The Program Director will be required to submit a signed and dated Enrollment Verification Form (Form EF), directly to the Board prior to a PTL being issued.

- ➤ If the resident is an international graduate and has a current Postgraduate Training Authorization Letter (PTAL), there are no additional fees, and/or Live Scan fingerprints required. However, an updated Application for a Postgraduate Training License (Forms PTL1-PTL5) may be required if the current application is a year or more old. Residents may call their Board assigned analyst for a status update on their PTAL file.
- ➤ If the resident has not previously applied with the Board, they are required to submit the application, Forms PTL1-PTL5, and the application fee of \$491. For information on the additional requirements, please visit the Board's website at https://www.mbc.ca.gov/Applicants/Physicians_and_Surgeons/Apply_by_Mail.aspx.

During the application process, the Board encourages applicants to check their application status online at www.breeze.ca.gov or by contacting their assigned Board analyst directly.

Current first year residents who are attending a transitional or preliminary year and are scheduled to complete the academic year on June 30, 2020 will not require a PTL. However, if the resident is accepted into an ACGME-accredited program in California starting on July 1, 2020, they will be required to obtain their PTL by December 31, 2020. The Program Director for the program that starts on July 1, 2020 will be required to submit the Postgraduate Training License Enrollment Form (Form EF) to the Board.

Current third year residents who will meet the 36 months postgraduate training requirement by June 30, 2020 do not require a PTL and must apply for a Physician's and Surgeon's license by

submitting an Application for a Physician's and Surgeon's License (Forms L1A-L1F). At the end of the 36 months, residents must cease all clinical services in California until they obtain a full license. However, they may continue clinical services for 90 days if they are enrolled in an ACGME-accredited training program in California. If the resident does not obtain their full license prior to the end of the 90 days, they must cease all clinical services in California. If the resident previously submitted an application, they can check their application status online at www.breeze.ca.gov or by contacting their assigned Board analyst directly.

Prior to issuance of the PTL, the Program Director is required to submit a signed and dated Postgraduate Training License Enrollment Form (Form EF) directly to the Board. The Board is aware that a resident's contract may start a couple of weeks earlier for orientation and certifications. When listing the "Dates of Training" on the EF form, please list the training dates for the clinical portion only. For example, if the resident starts with the organization on June 10, 2020 to complete their orientation and/or obtain certifications prior to starting their rotations, but clinical rotations are scheduled to start on July 1, 2020, then the start date on Form EF should be July 1, 2020.

Once the PTL application is approved, a license number preceded by "PTL" will be issued. The PTL information will be displayed on the Board's website and on the pocket card. The PTL license information will be available on the Board's website in early March. The pocket card will be mailed to the licensee's address of record within two to four weeks from the issue date. In addition to the resident's name, license number, issue date, and expiration date, the pocket card will also display the name of the training program and dates of training allowed under the PTL.

The Program Director for a Board-approved postgraduate training program in California must submit a Program Status Update/Change Form (Form PSU) and provide any required supporting documents within 30 days of when any of the following actions occur:

- Resident's postgraduate training period is extended due to:
 - o Receiving partial or no credit for a period during training
 - A leave of absence or any break
- > The resident is terminated from the postgraduate training program.
- > The resident resigns or otherwise leaves the postgraduate training program.
- The resident has completed a one-year contract approved by the postgraduate training program.

Once the Board receives and processes the PSU form, additional supporting documents may be requested. PTL information displayed on the Board's website may be updated based on the PSU form, e.g., program name, training dates, or expiration date.

The Board's Outreach Program will be hosting webinars over the next few months to assist applicants with the transition to the new licensing requirements. Dates and details will be emailed to you.

Should you have any further questions or concerns, please contact me by telephone at (916) 263-2348 or via email at Marina.OConnor@mbc.ca.gov or Lisa Toof, Licensing Outreach Manager by telephone at (916) 263-2368 or via email at Lisa.Toof@mbc.ca.gov.

Sincerely,