

Executive Office

2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 1200 Sacramento, CA 95815-5401 Phone: (916) 263-2382

Fax: (916) 263-2944 www.mbc.ca.gov

Governor Gavin Newsom, State of California | Business, Consumer Services and Housing Agency | Department of Consumer Affairs

SB 425 (Hill, Chapter 849, Statutes of 2019)

SB 425 (Hill) was signed into law by the Governor and became effective on January 1, 2020.

This bill requires health facilities and entities that allow a licensed health care professional to provide care for patients, to report allegations of sexual abuse and sexual misconduct made by a patient against a licensed health care practitioner to that practitioner's licensing board within 15 days. The patient allegation must be made in writing to the health facility or other entity to trigger the reporting requirements under this bill. Please use the Health Facility Reporting Form (805.8) to report allegations made against allopathic physicians to the Medical Board of California.

This bill specifies that a willful failure to file the required report is punishable by a fine not to exceed one hundred thousand dollars (\$100,000) per violation. This bill specifies that any failure to file the report is punishable by a fine not to exceed fifty thousand dollars (\$50,000) per violation.

The purpose of this bill is to ensure that allegations of sexual abuse and misconduct are reported to the appropriate licensing board so these cases can be reviewed and investigated to allow appropriate disciplinary action to be taken, if warranted.

The Board supported SB 425 and is pleased that it was signed into law, as it will help further the Board's mission of consumer protection.

Please contact Sharlene Smith in the Board's Central Complaint Unit at (916) 263-2519 or by email at complaint@mbc.ca.gov if you have questions or if you need additional information.