Continuing Medical Education
In order to ensure the continuing competence of licensed physician, you must complete a minimum of 50 hours of approved Continuing Medical Education (CME) hours during each biennial renewal cycle. CME courses must have been completed during each two-year period immediately preceding the expiration of your license. Courses must be taken through a continuing education provider recognized by the Board (Code of Regulations section 1336).
On the Renewal notice, you must certify under penalty of perjury you have complied with the CME requirements, unless the Board has approved a CME waiver. If you “declare under penalty of perjury” that you have completed the required CME hours during the renewal process, but fail to provide the required verification of completion upon request by the Board, it is considered unprofessional conduct by the Board and may result in disciplinary action.
If you do not complete a minimum of 50 hours, you shall be ineligible for renewal unless you obtain a waiver. You are not required to provide documentation to the Board unless you are contacted during a CME audit.
Courses approved by the Licensing Program include:
- Programs accredited by the California Medical Association (CMA), the American Medical Association (AMA), and the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) that qualify for AMA PRA Category 1 Credit(s)™;
- Programs which qualify for prescribed credit from the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP); and
- Other programs offered by other organizations and institutions acceptable to the Division.
Courses approved by the Licensing Program for Category 1 CME include programs that are approved by the California Medical Association and the American Medical Association and programs that qualify for prescribed credit from the American Academy of Family Physicians.