Polysomnographic Trainee, Technician or Technologist Registration Renewal
The registration to practice Polysomnography in California must be renewed every two years. It is illegal to practice Polysomnography with an expired registration. The registration expires at midnight on the expiration date.
Forms, information about current renewal fees, and requirements may be obtained by contacting:
Medical Board of California
2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 1200
Sacramento, CA 95815
(916) 263-2382 or (800) 633-2322
NOTE: Polysomnographic Technologists who were registered on or before October 22, 2012 and who qualified under the "grandfather requirements" which permitted registration solely based on documentation of five years of safe polysomnography physician-verified practice must submit evidence of having passed the technologists credentialing examination given by the Board of Registered Polysomnographic Technologists before their registration may be renewed. For more information or to register for the exam, please contact the Board of Polysomnographic Technologists.
Disciplinary Action Disclosure:
When renewing, each licensee must disclose whether they have had any license disciplined by a government agency or other disciplinary body, or, have been convicted of any crime in any state, the USA and its territories, military court or a foreign country. License includes permits, registrations and certificates.
Conviction includes a plea of no contest and any conviction that has been set aside or deferred pursuant to sections 1000 or 1203.4 of the Penal Code, including infractions, misdemeanor, and felonies. You do not need to report a conviction for an infraction with a fine of less than $300 unless the infraction involved alcohol or controlled substances.
Discipline includes, but is not limited to, suspension, revocation, voluntary surrender, probation, or any other restriction.
For additional information, please contact the Medical Board's Consumer Information Unit:
- Toll-Free: 1-800-633-2322
- Phone: (916) 263-2382
- Fax: (916) 263-2435
Failure to Renew:
Practicing polysomnography without a valid registration may lead to disciplinary action.
There is no grace period; if a registration has not been renewed within 30 days following the expiration date, the Licensing Program will notify the registrant by mail. The date a registration expires, the status is changed to "delinquent" if the renewal application and fees due are not received.
If a registration is renewed more than 30 days following the expiration date, the Polysomnographic Trainee, Technician, or Technologist is required to pay a $75 delinquency fee.