Midwifery License Renewal
The license to practice midwifery in California must be renewed every two years, which requires payment of the current fee and certification of 36 hours of approved continuing education. Licenses expire at 11:59 p.m. on the expiration date, which is the last day of the month in which it was issued. It is illegal to practice midwifery with an expired license.
The Board will send you an email notification to renew your license online 180 days prior to your license expiration date.
If you have not renewed your license within 120 days, the Board will mail the paper Renewal Notice to your Address of Record (AOR). You may renew your license online by visiting BreEZe or by submitting your renewal notice and payment by mail to the address below.
Medical Board of California
2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 1200
Sacramento, CA 95815
Note: Please allow four to six weeks for processing if you are mailing in your renewal notice and payment to the Board.
Please make check or money order payable to the Medical Board of California.
The Renewal Notice includes:
- Disciplinary Action/Conviction Disclosure
- Continued Medical Education Certification
Disciplinary Action Disclosure:
When renewing, each licensee must disclose whether they have had any license disciplined by a government agency or other disciplinary body, or, have been convicted of any crime in any state, the USA and its territories, military court or a foreign country. License includes permits, registrations and certificates.
Conviction includes a plea of no contest and any conviction that has been set aside or deferred pursuant to sections 1000 or 1203.4 of the Penal Code, including infractions, misdemeanors, and felonies. You do not need to report a conviction for an infraction with a fine of less than $300 unless the infraction involved alcohol or controlled substances.
Discipline includes, but is not limited to, suspension, revocation, voluntary surrender, probation, or any other restriction.
For additional information, please contact the Medical Board's Consumer Information Unit:
- Toll-Free: 1-800-633-2322
- Phone: (916) 263-2382
- Fax: (916) 263-2435
Failure to Renew:
Practicing midwifery without a valid license may lead to disciplinary action against a midwife.
If you have not renewed your license within 30 days following the expiration date, the Board will notify you by mail. In addition, your license status will be displayed as “Delinquent” on the Board’s website.
If a license is renewed more than 30 days following the expiration date, the midwife is required to pay a $50 delinquency fee, in addition to the standard renewal fee.
A delinquent license may be renewed within five years from the expiration date upon payment of the current and accrued fees and certification of completing the continuing education requirements.
After a license has been in "delinquent" status for five years, the license is automatically canceled. A canceled license may not be reactivated. The midwife must apply for a new license and meet the current licensure requirements.
The renewal fee for a Midwife's license is $300.00. The renewed license is valid for two years.
Delinquent Fees: In addition to the renewal fee, a delinquent fee of $50 will be added if payment is not received within 30 days following the expiration date of the license.
Expired Licenses: The Board will need to determine the correct renewal and delinquent fees. Please contact the Board at (916) 263-2382 to obtain the current amount you will need to pay.
Note: In accordance with Section 2428 of the California Business and Professions Code, a midwife whose California license expired five or more years ago must apply for a new license and meet the current licensing requirements in effect at the time of application.
Inactive License Status: Licensed Midwives who have been issued an Inactive Status License must pay the normal renewal fee but are exempt from the continuing education requirement. The holder of an inactive license may not engage in the practice of midwifery.
Retired License Status: Licensed Midwives who have been issued a Retired Status License are exempt from paying the renewal fee and the requirement for continuing education. The holder of a retired license may not engage in the practice of midwifery.
You may not be able to renew your license if you have been identified to have outstanding tax obligations or family support issues.
Potential License Denial or Suspension for Failure to Pay Taxes
The Medical Board of California is required to deny an application for licensure and to suspend the license/certificate/registration of any applicant or licensee who has outstanding tax obligations due to the Franchise Tax Board (FTB) or the State Board of Equalization (BOE) and appears on either the FTB or BOE's certified lists of top 500 tax delinquencies over $100,000. (AB 1424, Perea, Chapter 455, Statutes of 2011)
Once it has been determined that an applicant or a licensee is on a certified list, the applicant or licensee has 90 days from the issuance of a preliminary notice of suspension to either satisfy all outstanding tax obligations or enter into a payment installment program with the FTB or BOE. Any such person who fails to come into compliance will have their license denied or suspended until the Medical Board of California receives a release from the FTB or BOE. The form for requesting a release will be included with the preliminary notice of suspension.
The law prohibits the Medical Board of California from refunding any money paid for the issuance or renewal of a license where the license is denied or suspended as required by AB 1424.
The FTB and BOE are currently expanding the certified lists from 250 to 500, but you can check if you are currently on the FTB's certified list at: ftb.ca.gov or the BOE's certified list at: cdtfa.ca.gov. If you believe you are on either list in error, please call the FTB at (888) 426-8555 or the BOE at 916-445-5167.
Potential License Denial or Suspension for Failure to Pay Family Support
Family Code Section 17520 prohibits the issuance and renewal of a permanent professional license to individuals delinquent in their court-ordered child support payments and whose name appears on the Department of Child Support Service’s “Absent Parent Master File” certified list. In place of the permanent license, a 150-day temporary license or registration may be issued.
The law also requires the Board to suspend the license or registration of a licensee or registrant who is not compliant with a child support order or judgment whose name appears on the Department of Child Support Service’s (DCSS) “Absent Parent Master File” certified list.
Once it has been determined that an applicant, licensee, or registrant is non-compliant, the licensee is notified and has 150 days to meet their family support obligation or enter into a payment program with the local child support agency. Any person who fails to come into compliance will have their license denied or suspended until the Department of Consumer Affairs receives a release from one of the 58 DCSS County Child Support Agency Services.
Pursuant to Family Code Section 17520(e)(3)(D), the Medical Board of California is prohibited from refunding any money paid for the issuance or renewal of a license where the license is suspended.
For additional information, please contact the Department of Consumer Affair’s Family Support Program at (916) 574-8018.