Research/Student Research Psychoanalyst Registration Renewal
In California, registration as a Research Psychoanalyst and a Student Research Psychoanalyst must be renewed every two years. It is illegal to practice as a Research Psychoanalyst or as a Student Research Psychoanalyst with an expired registration. The registration expires at midnight on the expiration date.
When renewing by mail, the renewal must be on the Board's renewal form, and must include the current renewal fee. Please allow 4-8 weeks for processing. If a renewal notice is not received, the registration must still be renewed before the expiration date on the registration.
Student research psychoanalysts who are renewing their registration must present verification of their continuing student status from the registrar or similar official from the psychoanalytic institute they are attending.
Forms, information about current renewal fees, and requirements may be obtained by contacting:
Medical Board of California
2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 1200
Sacramento, CA 95815
(916) 263-2382 or (800) 633-2322
Disciplinary Action Disclosure:
When renewing, each licensee must disclose whether they have had any license disciplined by a government agency or other disciplinary body, or, have been convicted of any crime in any state, the USA and its territories, military court or a foreign country. License includes permits, registrations and certificates.
Conviction includes a plea of no contest and any conviction that has been set aside or deferred pursuant to sections 1000 or 1203.4 of the Penal Code, including infractions, misdemeanor, and felonies. You do not need to report a conviction for an infraction with a fine of less than $300 unless the infraction involved alcohol or controlled substances.
Discipline includes, but is not limited to, suspension, revocation, voluntary surrender, probation, or any other restriction.
For additional information, please contact the Medical Board's Consumer Information Unit:
- Toll-Free: 1-800-633-2322
- Phone: (916) 263-2382
- Fax: (916) 263-2435
You may not be able to renew your license if you have been identified to have outstanding tax obligations or family support issues.
Failure to Renew:
Practicing as a Research Psychoanalyst or a Student Research Psychoanalyst without a valid registration may lead to disciplinary action against the registrant.
There is no grace period; if a registration has not been renewed within 30 days following the expiration date, the Licensing Program will notify the registrant by mail. The date a registration expires, the status is changed to "delinquent" if the renewal application and fees due are not received.
After a registration has been in "delinquent" status for five years, the registration is automatically canceled. A canceled registration may not be reactivated by simply paying delinquent fees. The Research Psychoanalyst and a Student Research Psychoanalyst must apply for a new registration and meet the current registration requirements.
The renewal fee for Research Psychoanalyst and a Student Research Psychoanalyst is $50.00. The renewed registration is valid for two years.Research and Student Research Psychoanalyst Registration Renewal FAQ