Polysomnographic Trainee, Technician or Technologist Registration Renewal
The registration to practice Polysomnography in California must be renewed every
two years. It is illegal to practice Polysomnography with an expired registration.
The registration expires at midnight on the expiration date.
Currently, Polysomnographic Trainees, Technicians, or Technologists are unable to
renew their license online. Polysomnographic registrants must renew by mail.
Forms, information about current renewal fees, and requirements may be obtained
Medical Board of California
2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 1200
Sacramento, CA 95815
(916) 263-2382 or (800) 633-2322
NOTE: Polysomnographic Technologists who were registered on or
before October 22, 2012 and who qualified under the "grandfather requirements" which
permitted registration solely based on documentation of five years of safe polysomnography
physician-verified practice must submit evidence of having passed the technologists
credentialing examination given by the Board of Registered Polysomnographic Technologists
before their registration may be renewed. For more information or to register for
the exam, please contact the Board of Polysomnographic
Disciplinary Action Disclosure:
When renewing, each licensee must disclose whether they have had any license disciplined
by a government agency or other disciplinary body, or, have been convicted of any
crime in any state, the USA and its territories, military court or a foreign country.
License includes permits, registrations and certificates.
Conviction includes a plea of no contest and any conviction that has been set aside
or deferred pursuant to sections 1000 or 1203.4 of the Penal Code, including infractions,
misdemeanor, and felonies. You do not need to report a conviction for an infraction
with a fine of less than $300 unless the infraction involved alcohol or controlled
Discipline includes, but is not limited to, suspension, revocation, voluntary surrender,
probation, or any other restriction.
For additional information, please contact the Medical Board's Consumer Information
- Toll-Free: 1-800-633-2322
- Phone: (916) 263-2382
- Fax: (916) 263-2435
You may not be able to renew your license if you have been identified to have outstanding
tax obligations or family support issues.
Failure to Renew:
Practicing polysomnography without a valid registration may lead to disciplinary
There is no grace period; if a registration has not been renewed within 30 days
following the expiration date, the Licensing Program will notify the registrant
by mail. The date a registration expires, the status is changed to "delinquent"
if the renewal application and fees due are not received.
If a registration is renewed more than 30 days following the expiration date, the
Polysomnographic Trainee, Technician, or Technologist is required to pay a $75 delinquency
Frequently Asked Questions:
When can I expect to receive my renewal application?
Renewal applications are sent by U.S. Mail to the registrant's address of record
approximately 90 days prior to the expiration date of a registration. If you do
not receive a renewal application two months prior to your registration expiration
date, contact the Board at (916) 263-2382 or (800) 633-2322 to request a duplicate
renewal application. To ensure timely receipt of renewal applications, always keep
the Board informed of any address changes. It is the responsibility of the registrant
to renew his or her registration whether a notice has been received or not.
I didn't get my renewal application because my address changed. Do I have to pay
the delinquent fee?
Yes if you did not renew prior to the date the fees are imposed. A licensee or registrant
is required by law to notify the Medical Board in writing within 30 days of a change
Why do I have to pay?
California law requires that to maintain an active, current registration, each registrant,
including out-of-state registrants, must pay the full biennial renewal fee at the
time of registration renewal.
I'm leaving the country. Can I pay my renewal fee ahead of time?
The renewal must be paid within the 120 days prior to the expiration of the registration.
How much is the renewal fee?
The renewal fee is $150. The renewed registration is valid for two years.
What is the delinquent fee and when do I have to pay it?
In addition to the renewal fee, a $75 delinquent fee will be added if payment is
not received within 30 days following the expiration date of the registration.