Physicians and Surgeons

A Physician or Surgeon (M.D.) is an individual issued a license allowing them to practice medicine. A physician may diagnose, prescribe, and administer treatment to individuals suffering from injury or disease.

Military Status Renewal

You may renew your license under military status if you are engaged in full-time training or active service in the United States military, or the United States Public Health Service. Your license renewal fee will be waived; however, you are required to pay the mandatory Steven M. Thompson Physician Corps Loan Repayment Program (Business and Professions Code (BPC) section 2436.5) and the Controlled Substance Utilization Review and Evaluation System / Prescription Drug Monitoring Program (CURES/PDMP) (BPC section 208)fees. (BPC section 2440).

As required by AB 3330, the fee charged to maintain the Controlled Substances Utilization Review and Evaluation System (CURES) is set to increase from $12 to $22 for licenses that expire on or after July 1, 2021. The fee will then decrease to $18 for licenses expiring on or after July 1, 2023.

You must comply with the continuing medical education (CME) requirements while under military status. However, reasons of war or being aboard ship for extended periods (several years), which preclude a physician from participating in any CME will be considered. You may submit the “Application for Waiver of Continuing Medical Education During Renewal Cycle” form to the Board for consideration.

While on Military status, you may only engage in the practice of medicine on a military base and may not engage in any private practice. At the time of discharge, you must notify the Board within 60 days of discharge and request to restore your license to active status.

To restore your license to active status, you must complete and submit the "Application to Restore License to Full Active Status from Inactive, Disabled or Fee Exempt Status or from Disabled Status to Active Status with Limitations on Practice" form and pay the full renewal fee by mail. A late fee will be assessed if you do not pay the renewal fee within 60 days from the discharge date. Please contact the Board at (800) 633-2322 or (916) 263-2382 for information on delinquent fees due.

How to Renew a License with Military Status

While your license is under Military status, you can either renew by mail or online using BreEZe Online Services.

Renew Online

You are eligible to renew your license online if:

  • Your license expires within the next 180 days OR your license expired less than five years ago.
  • You have completed your Continuing Medical Education requirements.

You may answer the renewal questions and pay the renewal fee online using BreEZe Online Services. If your license expiration does not update, contact the Board’s Consumer Information Unit for assistance to complete the renewal process.

The renewal questions include:

  • Physician Survey
  • Financial Interest Statement
  • Disciplinary Action/Conviction Disclosure
  • Continued Medical Education Certification

Renew by Mail

You may submit the renewal packet and fees directly to the Board by mailing the documents to:

Medical Board of California
2005 Evergreen Street
Sacramento, CA 95815

Please make check or money order payable to the Medical Board of California.

The renewal notice includes:

  • Physician Survey
  • Financial Interest Statement
  • Disciplinary Action/Conviction Disclosure
  • Continued Medical Education Statement

Note: Please allow four to six weeks for processing.