Research and Student Research Psychoanalyst Registration Renewal
In California, registration as a Research Psychoanalyst and a Student Research Psychoanalyst
must be renewed every two years. It is illegal to practice as a Research Psychoanalyst
or as a Student Research Psychoanalyst with an expired registration. The registration
expires at midnight on the expiration date.
Currently, Registered Research Psychoanalysts and a Student Research Psychoanalysts
are unable to renew their registration online. Registrants must renew by mail.
When renewing by mail, the renewal must be on the Board's renewal form, and must
include the current renewal fee. Please allow 4-8 weeks for processing. If a renewal
notice is not received, the registration must still be renewed before the expiration
date on the registration.
Student research psychoanalysts who are renewing their registration must present
verification of their continuing student status from the registrar or similar official
from the psychoanalytic institute they are attending.
Forms, information about current renewal fees, and requirements may be obtained
Medical Board of California
2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 1200
Sacramento, CA 95815
(916) 263-2382 or (800) 633-2322
Disciplinary Action Disclosure:
When renewing, each licensee must disclose whether they have had any license disciplined
by a government agency or other disciplinary body, or, have been convicted of any
crime in any state, the USA and its territories, military court or a foreign country.
License includes permits, registrations and certificates.
Conviction includes a plea of no contest and any conviction that has been set aside
or deferred pursuant to sections 1000 or 1203.4 of the Penal Code, including infractions,
misdemeanor, and felonies. You do not need to report a conviction for an infraction
with a fine of less than $300 unless the infraction involved alcohol or controlled
Discipline includes, but is not limited to, suspension, revocation, voluntary surrender,
probation, or any other restriction.
For additional information, please contact the Medical Board's Consumer Information
- Toll-Free: 1-800-633-2322
- Phone: (916) 263-2382
- Fax: (916) 263-2435
You may not be able to renew your license if you have been identified to have outstanding
tax obligations or family support issues.
Failure to Renew:
Practicing as a Research Psychoanalyst or a Student Research Psychoanalyst without
a valid registration may lead to disciplinary action against the registrant.
There is no grace period; if a registration has not been renewed within 30 days
following the expiration date, the Licensing Program will notify the registrant
by mail. The date a registration expires, the status is changed to "delinquent"
if the renewal application and fees due are not received.
After a registration has been in "delinquent" status for five years, the registration
is automatically canceled. A canceled registration may not be reactivated by simply
paying delinquent fees. The Research Psychoanalyst and a Student Research Psychoanalyst
must apply for a new registration and meet the current registration requirements.
Frequently Asked Questions:
The renewal fee for Research Psychoanalyst and a Student Research Psychoanalyst
is $50.00. The renewed registration is valid for two years and becomes invalid at
midnight on the last day of February of each even-numbered year if not renewed.