Any physician who is engaged in full-time training or active service in the Armed
Forces or in the United States Public Health Service may be eligible for exemption
from payment of the renewal fee. However, California Business and Professions Code
section 2436.5 requires licensees to pay a mandatory fee of $25.00 at
time of renewal of a physician's and surgeon's license to the
Physician Loan Repayment Program and B&P section 208 requires licensees
a $12.00 mandatory fee at the time of renewal for the Controlled Substance Utilization
Review and Evaluation System / Prescription Drug Monitoring Program (CURES/PDMP).
The Physician Loan Repayment Program and the CURES/PDMP encourage recently licensed
physicians to practice in underserved locations in California by authorizing a plan
of repayment of their medical school loans in exchange for their service in a designated
medically underserved area for a minimum of three years. The CURES/PDMP allows pre-registered
users, including physicians and other licensed health care prescribers, pharmacists,
law enforcement, and regulatory board to access timely patient controlled substance
history information. Access to this information assists health care professionals
in identifying possible prescription drug abuse.
Anyone receiving a military exemption may not engage in any private practice, will
be liable for payment of the current renewal fee upon discharge from full-time active
service, and will have 60 days after becoming eligible within which to pay the renewal
fee before late fees are assessed.
Physicians in military status must still meet all continuing medical education (CME)
To receive a fee exemption, a licensee must apply for the status change before the
expiration date of the license. If the license is current, no fee is required.
If the license is in a delinquent status, a payment of all accrued renewal fees,
delinquent fee, the $25.00 and $12.00 mandatory fees, and penalty fee must be submitted
At the time of discharge, the physician must notify the Board and request the license
be restored to active status.
For further information, please contact the Consumer Information Unit at (800) 633-2322
or (916) 263-2382.
Business and Professions Code section 2440