A licensee who applies for a retired license will be exempt from payment of the
renewal fees and the continuing medical education (CME) requirements. However, California
Business and Professions Code (B&P) section 2436.5 requires licensees to pay
fee of $25.00 at the time of renewal of a physician's and surgeon's license to the
Physician Loan Repayment Program.
The Physician Loan Repayment Program encourages
recently licensed physicians to practice in underserved locations in California
by authorizing a plan of repayment of their medical school loans in exchange for
their service in a designated medically underserved area for a minimum of three
The holder of a retired license may not engage in the practice of medicine.
To receive a fee exemption, a licensee must apply for the status change before the
expiration date of the license. If the license is current, no fee is required.
If the license is in a delinquent status, a payment of all accrued renewal fees,
delinquent fee, the $25.00 mandatory fee, and penalty fee must be submitted
with the application.
For further information, please contact the Consumer Information Unit at (800) 633-2322
or (916) 263-2382.